Home » Musicians » Composers » Bliss, Arthur

Bliss, Arthur

Born: 1891 AD
Died: 1975 AD
Nationality: British
Categories: Composers

1891 – Born on the 2nd of August to an American father and English mother.


Studied at the Royal College of Music under Charles Villiers Stanford.


He served as an infantry officer in the First World War.


1922 – Composed "Madam Noy", "Colour Symphony", symphony "Morning Heroes", suite "Kenilworth".


1930 – He wrote the music for the film Things to come and the ballet Checkmate.


1950 – He was knighted.


1953 – Appointed to succeed Arnold Bax as Master of the Queen’s Musick.


1972 – Conducted a performance of his Piano Concerto at the Cheltenham Festival with Frank Wibaut as soloist.


1975 – A new production of his ballet The Lady of Shalott being staged at the Leicester Haymarket Theatre.


       – Sir Arthur Edward Drummond Bliss died on 27th of March.