Home » Musicians » Composers » Respighi, Ottorino

Respighi, Ottorino

Born: 1879 AD
Died: 1936 AD
1 (20%) 1 vote

Italian composer, musicologist and violinist.

1879 – Born 9th of July in Bologna, Italy.

Continued studying violin with Federico Sarti at the Liceo Musicale in Bologna, composition with Giuseppe Martucci, and historical studies with the early music scholar Luigi Torchi.

1900 – Went to Russia as first violinist in the orchestra of the Russian Imperial Theatre in St Petersburg.

1902 – Composition lessons with Max Bruch in Berlin.

1908 – Principal activity was as first violin in the Mugellini Quintet.

1913 – Moved to Rome and lived there for the rest of his life.

         – Appointed a teacher of composition at the Conservatorio di Santa Cecilia.

1923-1926 – Director of the Conservatorio.

1925 – Collaborated with Luciani on an elementary textbook entitled Orpheus.

Published editions of the music of Claudio Monteverdi and Antonio Vivaldi, and of Benedetto Marcello’s Didone.

1930 – Wrote a Ballet Suite Belkis, regina di Saba which was his last works for ballet.

1932 – He wrote Ancient Airs and Dances Suite No. 3, which differs from the previous two suites.

1936 – He died 18th of April in his Roman villa named "I Pini".

1 (20%) 1 vote