Bartok, Bela

Born: Mar 25, 1881 AD
Died: 1945 AD, at 64 years of age.

Nationality: Hungarian
Categories: Composers, Pianists

1881 - Béla Bartók was born 25th of March in Transylvanian town Nagyszentmiklós Hungary.


1899 - Bartók followed Dohnányi to the Academy of Music in Budapest.


1903 - Bartók produced his first major work, the symphonic poem, Kossuth, honoring Lajos Kossuth, hero of the Hungarian revolution.


1906 - Bartók began his collecting in Hungary's Békés County.


1907 - Became a piano instructor at the Budapest Academy.


1909 - Bartók married Márta Ziegler.


1919 - He and Kodály were temporarily suspended from their Academy posts for political reasons.


1917 - First mature work, the opera Bluebeard's Castle, Bartók translated his own sense of profound spiritual isolation into music.


         - He pursued the same theme in the fairy-tale ballet The Wooden Prince, and the ballet-pantomime The Miraculous Mandarin.


1926 - Wrote The Miraculous Mandarin tells a sordid modern story of prostitution, robbery, and murder.


1931 - Went to the French Embassy to accept the Légion d'honneur.


1934 - He wrote his fifth string quartet for the American Elisabeth Sprague Coolidge.


1936 - For the Swiss conductor Paul Sacher he composed Music for Strings, Percussion, and Celesta.


1937 - The Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion.


1939- He wrote for Divertimento.


1940  - Bartók sailed for America with his wife.


1945 - On 26th of September Bartók died in a New York hospital.




Page last updated: 1:26pm, 01st Dec '06
Return to full site

This page is copyright ©