Welcome, guest! ~ Login ~ Register 

Quick Search:

S9.com / Biographies /

Montgomery, Lucy Maud

Born: 1874 AD
Died: 1942 AD, at 67 years of age.

Nationality: Canadian
Categories: Novelists, Poets, Writers


1874 - Born on November 30th in Clifton, Prince Edward Island, Canada.

1908 - Her first novel, Anne of Green Gables, met with immediate success and has been widely translated. Anne Shirley, the novel’s heroine, is a spirited, witty young girl with red hair and a wild imagination.

1909 - The novel’s sequels include Anne of Avonlea, Chronicles of Avonlea, Anne of the Island, and Anne’s House of Dreams.

1911 - Married to Ewan Macdonald on July 5th.

1912-1939 - Wrote The Golden Road, The Watchman & Other Poems, Rainbow Valley, Rilla of Ingleside, Emily of New Moon, Emily Climbs, The Blue Castle, Emily's Quest, Magic for Marigold, A Tangled Web, Pat of Silver Bush, Courageous Women, Mistress Pat, Anne of Windy Poplars, Jane of Lantern Hill and Anne of Ingleside.

1942 - Died on April 24th in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.


Page last updated: 1:30pm, 18th Apr '07

  • "Isn't it splendid to think of all the things there are to find out about? It just makes me feel glad to be alive -- it's such an interesting world."