Home » Writers » Authors » Hawthorne, Nathaniel

Hawthorne, Nathaniel

Born: 1804 AD
Died: 1864 AD
2.8 (56%) 15 votes

1804 – Nathaniel Hawthorne, born on the 4th of July in Salem, Massachusetts. An American novelist and short-story writer. Descended from Puritans, he was imbued with a deep moral earnestness.

1832 – 1835 – After producing several unexceptional works, he wrote some of his greatest tales, including "My Kinsman, Major Molineux", "Roger Malvin’s Burial", and "Young Goodman Brown".

1837 – 1851 – His story collections include Twice-Told Tales, Mosses from an Old Manse, and The Snow-Image.

1850 – 1851 – He is best known for the novels The Scarlet Letter, a story of adultery set in colonial New England considered to be one of the best American novels, and The House of the Seven Gables, the story of a family that lives under a curse for generations.

1852 – 1860 – His later works include The Blithedale Romance and The Marble Faun. A skilled literary craftsman and a master of allegory and symbolism, he ranks among the greatest American fiction writers.

1864 – Died on the 19th of May in Plymouth, New Hampshire.

2.8 (56%) 15 votes