Home » Musicians » Composers » Bartok, Bela

Bartok, Bela

Born: 1881 AD
Died: 1945 AD
3 (60.67%) 30 votes

1881 – Béla Bartók was born 25th of March in Transylvanian town Nagyszentmiklós Hungary.

1899 – Bartók followed Dohnányi to the Academy of Music in Budapest.

1903 – Bartók produced his first major work, the symphonic poem, Kossuth, honoring Lajos Kossuth, hero of the Hungarian revolution.

1906 – Bartók began his collecting in Hungary’s Békés County.

1907 – Became a piano instructor at the Budapest Academy.

1909 – Bartók married Márta Ziegler.

1919 – He and Kodály were temporarily suspended from their Academy posts for political reasons.

1917 – First mature work, the opera Bluebeard’s Castle, Bartók translated his own sense of profound spiritual isolation into music.


         – He pursued the same theme in the fairy-tale ballet The Wooden Prince, and the ballet-pantomime The Miraculous Mandarin.

1926 – Wrote The Miraculous Mandarin tells a sordid modern story of prostitution, robbery, and murder.

1931 – Went to the French Embassy to accept the Légion d’honneur.

1934 – He wrote his fifth string quartet for the American Elisabeth Sprague Coolidge.

1936 – For the Swiss conductor Paul Sacher he composed Music for Strings, Percussion, and Celesta.

1937 – The Sonata for Two Pianos and Percussion.

1939- He wrote for Divertimento.

1940  – Bartók sailed for America with his wife.

1945 – On 26th of September Bartók died in a New York hospital.

3 (60.67%) 30 votes